Fun with games and movies

I recently finished reading A Theory of Fun by Raph Koster, and as a self-proclaimed neurotic, I have some thoughts on the book. Koster attempts to explain why games are fun and why they have become such a beloved form of entertainment. And while I appreciate his efforts, I have some reservations about his theory.

First off, Koster does a good job of exploring the history and evolution of games, from ancient board games to modern video games. He argues that games are a fundamental part of human culture, and that they serve a variety of social, psychological, and educational functions. I can get behind that.

However, when it comes to his theory of fun, I found myself less convinced. Koster argues that games are fun because they provide a mental workout for our brains, stimulating our problem-solving skills and helping us learn and grow. While I think there’s some truth to that, I don’t think it fully captures why games are so appealing to so many people.

For me, the appeal of games is in the escape they provide. When I’m playing a game, I can forget about my real-world problems and immerse myself in a fantastical world filled with adventure and excitement. It’s like taking a mini-vacation from the stresses of everyday life. Sure, there’s some mental stimulation involved, but I don’t think that’s the primary reason why I enjoy games.

That being said, I still think “A Theory of Fun” is worth reading for anyone interested in the history and psychology of games. Koster raises many interesting questions and ideas, and his book provides a valuable perspective on the role of games in our society. Just don’t expect his theory of fun to be the final word on the matter.

In the end, I’m not sure I fully agree with Koster’s theory of fun. But as a neurotic gamer, I appreciate his efforts to explore the complex and fascinating world of games. And who knows, maybe someday I’ll come up with my own theory of fun. It’ll probably involve movies and chocolate chip cookies, but hey, to each their own.


Leave a comment